Final Blog Update and Operating Instructions.

Image

 

Fig. 1 – The final presentation mode interface of my completed effects unit

 

Instructions And Troubleshooting.

To start the effects unit, select your input preferences form the top left hand box. Remember, the audio signal always flows from left to right throughout this unit.

 

Then in the Bottom right box, select your output level by moving the left hand slider upwards. Also check the limiter box to turn this on if you wish. Click on the speaker icon to start the audio output.

 

The button being clicked four times activates the tap looper feature, in the looper section.

 

IF THE SIGNAL DOES NOT CONTINUOUSLY FLOW FROM THE FIRST TO END BOX:

 

-        Check the input gain in box one is at a high enough level, and inputs are correct.

-        Check signal is being received in the output box, and that the sliders are at a high enough level.

-        Try clicking the Bypass option on the Overdrive box

-        Try changing the output gain on the Chorus box

-        If not, try experimenting with it with other sections of the interface, making use of the level-meters to see if signal is getting through – trial and error can often prove a successful solution!

-        And if none of that works… try posting on the Cycling 74 forums and ask for help. – They are often very helpful.

 

Last Blog Update

 

My artifact is now complete and ready to submit for marking. I have fitted all the previously discussed components together and created what I see as a user-friendly operational interface within presentation mode. [Fig.1] I have also saved this piece as its own stand-alone application. One new feature of the final presentation mode that has been included is a hyperlink to this blog site, this was created by using the ‘textbutton’ object and connect that to the URL of my blog website [Fig.2]. I did this for both my original Posterous site and my WordPress back up, with the view of it linking to this so to offer the user instructions and troubleshooting answers if they encounter problems whilst using the unit. I have also stuck with my original plan of using a simple three-colour approach of using only pink, black and white, I feel this gives the artifact a consistent user-friendly interface to work with, that doesn’t seem to intimidating to the novice user. I have also consistently used rotaries throughout the interface, as to me they are more accurate and visual than using alternatives, I also used them consistently so no to create confusion for the users between effects. As well as that, I placed level-metes at various points along the signal path so the user is able to clearly see if signal is getting through. I also took some time to tidy up the layout of the patching mode interface [Fig 3], so if any users are interested, they can see how the processes work more clearly, and program them to better suit their own needs. 

Image

Fig.2 – Using the ‘textbutton’ object to create a link to my blog in my artefact.

Image

Fig. 3 – My final patching mode view

 

That’s all folks! Thank you to people who have been following my progress.

 

Here are some references of websites that helped me with research and creation of this artifact.

 

-       http://cycling74.com/2008/07/28/max-5-guitar-processor-part-1/

-       http://www.music.mcgill.ca/~gary/307/week3/effects.html

-       http://www.media.aau.dk/~sts/ad/effects.html

-       http://www.perevillez.com/CT6EXMUS/

-       http://www.peterbatchelor.com/maxTuts.html

-       http://www.youtube.com/user/JoelisRich

Leave a Reply

